Early Years Foundation Stage

In their early years, children develop and learn at a remarkable rate. That’s why Ofsted produce a framework for all early years providers to follow. It’s called the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and it sets standards for the care, learning and development of your child from birth to five years old.

At Charles Darwin Nursery, the EYFS is very much at the centre of what we do for all age groups. At our monthly meetings, our staff team plan a wide range of activities designed to support the seven areas of learning, and the children will learn mostly through play and games.

Find out more about the EYFS on the GOV.UK website

The EYFS areas of learning

  • Personal, social and emotional development

  • Communication and language

  • Physical development

  • Mathematics 

  • Literacy

  • Understanding the world

  • Expressive arts and design